SummerSlam & NXT: Takeover Predictions & Thoughts

by

wwe-summerslam-2015

The Undertaker vs. Brock Lesnar

Mascara De Fuego: Brock. I’ve been on the fence about this match since Taker showed up at Battleground and nut shot Brock. The reason I’m not crazy about this was that Brock’s been a face since WrestleMania 31 and Taker has come off as a bitter defeated heel since returning. Now the only way I see this working itself out is that heel(ish) Undertaker loses AGAIN to Brock which hopefully in turn makes Taker look sympathetic while still keeping Brock face. This would then set up the next WrestleMania match where the sympathetic old veteran finally breast the unbeatable beast. You could even make it MORE interesting by having the WWE Title on Brock going into that match but I’m sure they will think it wont need it… but, Taker retiring as champion would be dope.

Great Puma: Brock. Undertaker has been taking the heel role of late, and I think the Tri-State crowd will cheer more for a Brock victory than a Taker one. I hate rumors, but I love the scenario of Sting interfering to set up the overdue Taker-Sting ‘mania match we’ve been waiting years for. Brock just had a successful appearance on ESPN. Taker is an icon but he’s nowhere near as relevant as Brock Lesnar is right now. A Taker win won’t do anything for either man’s career. It derails the momentum that Brock has gained since Wrestlemania and Taker would leave with a win and not be back with the roster until probably around the Royal Rumble. I actually have no idea how this match will play out but I certainly am intrigued.

 

Title vs. Title

WWE World Champion Seth Rollins vs. United States Champion John Cena

Great Puma: Seth Rollins. Nope. I cannot accept Cena tying Ric Flair’s record. Ain’t gonna happen here. It just can’t happen. I expect this to showcase IndyCena with Rollins looking strong. It will be interesting to see if Cena cashes in his receipt and goes for his own flying knee to Seth Rollins’ nose.

Mascara De Fuego: fucked finish. Neither one of these dudes are walking out with both titles, there is no way. Cena has a good thing with the US Title and Rollins still needs a longer run as WWE Champion. Besides, don’t even get me started with stupid ass Cena coming close to Ric Flair’s record… fuck that shit. Should be a good match, hopefully it will resemble more of what Cena did with Owen’s in regards to match quality.

Kevin Owens vs. Cesaro

Mascara De Fuego: Cesaro. I think Cesaro has been on a solid roll lately and I think a big ppv win can do him wonders. I hate to see it at the hands of Owens but they can play off the fact that Owens was in a ladder match the night before for NXT. I still thing this will be a stellar match and probably match-of-the-night!

Great Puma: Owens. I have Owens losing his NXT match so I don’t think they’d have him lose both of his matches for the weekend. Or would they? I’d love to see a best of seven series but I think this feud can go for at least 2 more pay per views. I’m excited for this match the most. If they get at least 13 to 15 minutes, this match is going to be off the charts.

 

Randy Orton vs. Sheamus

Great Puma: Orton. I just want to see an RKO on dat ass. Did Sheamus cash in yet? Because I give zero you know whats about him.

Mascara De Fuego: Orton. That’s all I gotta say about this bullshit. I don’t care to ever see this combination together ever again.

 

Dolph Ziggler vs. Rusev

Mascara De Fuego: Rusev. I think Rusev will win this once with help of “hot” Summer which will set up the mixed tag match for next month where Lana will make Summer tap out with the Accolade.

Great Puma: Ziggler. Ziggler just came back and Rusev will still be going strong whether he wins or loses here. Ziggler needs this more than Rusev and Lana being in his corner is a huge help for his cause.

 

Stephen Amell & Neville vs. Stardust & King Barrett

Great Puma: Stephen Amell & Neville. The Lawrence Taylor rule applies here as it applied to Snooki’s Wrestlemania match. You don’t bring in pop culture stars to lose unless they’re coming back for another PPV, which is highly unlikely.

Mascara De Fuego: Amell & Neville. I am a fan of Amell and the Arrow TV show so I am somewhat intrigued by this match up. The dude is athletic and should be able to hang with the Cosmic team.

 

Wyatt Family vs. Dean Ambrose & Roman Reigns

Mascara De Fuego: Wyatt’s. Bray’s team gets the win here and sets up another tag match for next month. Yeah, you could involve Sting in that shit and have a 6 man match but I don’t see Sting coming back for Night of Champions. Match should be decent.

Great Puma: Shield-lite. There’s way too much talk of Dean and Roman turning on one another. I’d like to see either guy carry and championship for a while before they turn heel. I predict a win for the good guys, with the Wyatts doing damage after the match.

 

Diva Elimination Tag Team Match

Team PCB vs. Team BAD vs. Team Bella

Great Puma: Team PCB. I can’t tell if the WWE is grooming Becky Lynch or Sasha Banks to rise at the top of the Divas division. PCB gets my vote here because they have the lesser of the evils. That being said, I’m hoping they mention Sasha’s title defense from the NXT Brooklyn that will happen the night before for continuity’s sake.

Mascara De Fuego: Team BAD. I hope this match lives up to the hype and push it has gotten. I think if any team needs the win over any other it would be Team BAD. Sasha is your franchise player here and my money is all in on her being the figure head of this division. This would be the perfect time to start pushing for that.

 

Fatal 4-Way for the WWE Tag Team Championship

New Day vs. Prime Time Players vs. Lucha Dragons vs. Los Matadores

Mascara De Fuego: New Day. Come on, New Day has really turn a corner here with their gimmick, its time to reward these dudes once again with another tag title run. Could be another entertainment match although I fear its going to be bumped to the pre-show.

Great Puma: New Day. They’re the most complete team here. New Day have become must see TV, while the other tag teams have been mild mid-card entertainment over the last two months. That being said, I hope they get enough time for everyone to get their shit in and then some.

 

Triple Threat for the Intercontinental Championship

Ryback vs. The Miz vs. Big Show

Great Puma: Ryback. I’ll actually be glad if Miz gets the W here. The big guy that had staph doesn’t nothing for me.

Mascara De Fuego: Ryback. Nothing else to say about that shit really.

takeover_bk_image

Ladder Match for the NXT Championship

Finn Balor vs. Kevin Owens

Mascara De Fuego: Owens. I don’t want to cut Balor’s reign short but if there is one guy who should be the 1st two time NXT Champion it should be Owens. I think Balor would get the title back but I think this should be a real feud over the belt and not just another match before Owens heads off to RAW. Owens and Balor should continue this feud past Brooklyn and possibly to the next Takeover show. This does mean we shouldn’t get the demon this Saturday as they should keep that incarnation of Balor undefeated. Should be a stellar match. Oh, and dope new Balor shirt is out. Gotta get that one!

Great Puma: Bálor. Great new shirt = win. An Owens win would mean he would spend more time in NXT, which is what I don’t want. However, that also means that Owens can still feud with Samoa Joe over the NXT championship. As much as I’d like to see that, I still want Bálor to have his first successful title defense in Brooklyn. I really just want Owens to focus on the WWE full time and become the major superstar that he is supposed to be.

 

NXT Women’s Champion Sasha Banks vs. Bayley

Great Puma: Bayley. Full mark pick here. It’s about time Bayley gets Women’s Championship, and I feel that the Brooklyn crowd will be sent home happy if Bayley and Bálor win in the main events. Bayley has way too much momentum to be losing here, while Banks is being groomed for a place at the top of Divas division.

Mascara De Fuego: Sasha. Everyone thinks its a foregone conclusion that Bayley is taking the title on Saturday but I am going with the swerve here. I think she will get the title in the weeks to come but it isn’t happening on this show. This is where Sasha’s gets her first (of two) big wins this weekend when she shockingly retains the title against an emotional Bayley.

 

NXT Tag Team Champions Blake & Murphy vs. The Vaudvillians

Mascara De Fuego: B&M. I just hope that this match is better than the last one and that the “surprise” but Gotch and English is worth something that will boost this team further up.

Great Puma: Blake & Murphy. Blake & Murphy still garner tons of heat, while waiting for the rest of the NXT tag team division to catch up. I’m hoping Jordan and Gable develop faster than expected to start challenging for the tag titles.

 

Jushin “Thunder” Liger vs. Tyler Breeze

Great Puma: Breeze. What’s a better name on your resume than Liger? It’s a shame Liger has to lose here but the fact that he’s wrestling on a WWE event is already win-win situation. All I ask is that these two get enough time for Liger to show what casual WWE fans have been missing, and for Breeze to simply just show off.

Mascara De Fuego: Liger. Breeze has his work cut out for him. What can you say about Liger that hasn’t been already said? I just hope this will elevate Tyler into the main event picture of NXT down the road. I really have high hopes for this one.

 

Samoa Joe vs. Baron Corbin

Mascara De Fuego: Corbin. New York is going to go nuts for Joe, unfortunately I think we’re getting a fucked finish with someone or something helping Corbin defeat Joe. I do hope Joe can get a decent match out of this kid. :\

Great Puma: Joe. Full mark pick strikes again. I know they’re trying to protect Corbin but Joe is already a proven money maker. There’s no reason for Corbin to go over here. I don’t see any traction in his heat and I still don’t care whenever he’s on my screen. Meanwhile, Joe needs hurry up and make the big impact that we all know he’s capable of making.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

