WWE Extreme Rules – Thoughts & Predictions

by

extreme_rules_logo2

WWE Champion John Cena vs. Ryback

Mascara De Fuego: Cena. What else is there to say, super Cena ain’t losing this title anytime soon. They got the belt around their (boring ass, no one gives a shit about you) hero. He’ll “rise above” the monster that is Ryback and move onto another ppv match or two with him before Ryback is moved into some other shit. Yeah, I’ve heard the rumors of him being a fourth member of the Shield but I don’t want to see that at all. The Shield doesn’t need him (tho he needs the Shield right about now).  The Shield can’t be used as a crutch to get Ryback over. They had something going with him before they turned him heel and now they have to figure out how to make it work on their own. As for the match, eh its not going to be great.

Great Puma: Ryback. Every now and then I like to go full mark with predictions and do some wishful thinking shit. The bad part about this prediction is that if Ryback wins, I think they go ahead with the “Ryback being the fourth member in the Shield” angle. It wouldn’t make sense at all, but it’s the only way they would allow Ryback to beat their beloved golden goose.

Steel Cage match

Triple H vs. Brock Lesnar w/Paul Heyman

Mascara De Fuego: Lesnar. Oh man, do I hope this will be the LAST of these matches between these two. Lesnar needs to come out of this cage match stronger than ever. HHH got is “big victory” at WrestleMania, now its time to get back on track and have Lesnar just run over people, it’s the only way they can save this character right now. I would REALLY love to see Lesnar come out and murder (not for realies) Triple H in a matter of minutes. Make it look like some UFC style shit where the dude just gets knocked the fuck out in minutes of starting a round. Yeah people would feel cheated they didn’t get a long back but come on people we’ve seen this shit before, its time to try something new and different and just have Brock run over people.

 

Great Puma: Brock Lesnar. Lesnar needs this and his price tag demands him to win here. Lesnar isn’t going to draw pay per numbers if he loses. I think people buy Brock Lesnar pay per views to see him dominate, even though he’s in a scripted sports entertainment environment. I’m not sure if Triple H understands that putting Lesnar over will actually help his own legacy than beating Lesnar here. Part of being a legend in pro wrestling is the ability to make enhance the careers of others in the interest of business. In my mind, losing to Brock Lesnar is good business.

I Quit Match to be come the #1 contender to the World Title

Alberto Del Rio w/Ricardo Rodriguez vs. Jack Swagger w/Zeb Colter

Great Puma: No Contest. I don’t think a winner here matters when the WWE is hell bent on including Jack Swagger in the World Title scene. I have a feeling Big E Langston or even Ziggler himself are going to make a run in of sorts. I’ve never made a call like this but for some reason this is the outcome that resonates most with me. I just hope Del Rio and Swagger can bring out the absolute best of each other.

Mascara De Fuego: Del Rio. I was looking forward to the triple threat ladder match for the World Title. I think that would have been the match to make Ziggler stand out. Of course Swagger fucked that all up and we’re stuck with a rehash of WrestleMania between Del Rio and Swagger. This match, I am don’t care about so hopefully it will at least be decent. I hate to say it but this Swagger experiment has reached its shelf life. He hasn’t been helping his cause either with the arrest and taking out Ziggler. I like the kid but like Kofi, I just don’t know what could save these guys right now.

 

United States Champion Kofi Kingston vs. Dean Ambrose

Great Puma: Dean Ambrose. I’m a mark for Kofi, but I’m a bigger mark for Dean Ambrose and his Headlock Driver. Kofi is at the point of his career where he needs to assert himself into bigger and better feuds. He doesn’t need the US Title anymore and the title itself isn’t going to be elevated by someone the WWE isn’t really interested in. I think an Ambrose title run, coupled with a Shield Tag Team Titles run, will bring more meaning to the title than it has had in decades.

Mascara De Fuego: Ambrose. The beginning of this crew holding titles and there is no other title that needs it now more than ever than the US Title. This belt (as well at the I-C Title that’s not even on the ppv) have been delegated to guys the WWE just wants to book as losing all the time to where these two titles mean nothing. I’m hoping that with Ambrose holding the title it will elevate once again since the Shield has been protected (for the most part) since debuting. Kofi unfortunately is lost in the shuffle and I don’t think the WWE will ever take him serious. What more can you do with him on the lower/mid card at this point? He’s held all the lower tier titles more than enough times, even the tag titles. Maybe it’s the opportunity for some time off and get him a fresh coat of paint…? This match should be match of the night.

Tag Team Tornado Match

WWE Tag Team Champions Team Hell No vs. The Shield

Mascara De Fuego: The Shield. This will complete the trilogy of titles for the Shield or at least I am hoping. Its been a while since we’ve had a super group holding a majority of titles and I think this is the right time to do it! I like all three members having their own titles instead of the freebird-rules where any 2 of the 3 members can defend the titles. I’m holding this match as well will steal the show. Its got potential for lots of plunder but I think it should be good nonetheless. It will be interesting to see Rollins and Reigns going at it alone for the first time without Ambrose. I’m keeping my fingers crossed here.

Great Puma: The Shield. I’ve got high hopes for this match and I want both Roman Reigns and Seth Rollins to be highlighted more so than any match in their WWE tenure so far. This also doesn’t mean the end for Team Hell No. I think a two pay per view feud between the two teams, with a title rematch on Raw or Smackdown, would please the fans. Team Hell No are already over so they don’t need the Tag titles that they’ve elevated any more. The Shield, however, should be given the opportunity.

Strap Match

Sheamus vs. Mark Henry

Great Puma: Mark Henry. Henry is pulling rigs and breaking records, while Sheamus is just getting the crowd behind him for being a bully. I hope St. Louis recognizes game and goes all Tri-State bizarro crowd on Orton and cheers Mark Henry. Mark Henry has been performing at an all time high, while Sheamus has been doing a very bad Celtic Cena-lite.

Mascara De Fuego: Henry. I don’t know what the hell they are doing with Sheamus here but he’s come off heelish where Henry has come off more like a face. Especially after is feet of strength with those two semi trucks. Sheamus needs to be retooled I hate his character as of late and it just isn’t working. He cant be the Irish Cena… Henry (like Big Show) need to move up the card and stop wasting the short time this dude probably has left in his career. There will be a lot of whipping in this match…

Extreme Rules Match

Randy Orton vs. The Big Show

Great Puma: Big Show. I don’t buy the hometown advantage they’re putting on this match. Big Show is the Big Show and he’s been on a roll prior to their big Wrestlemania Trust issues angle. Why should they stop Big Show’s momentum for Orton’s sake?

Mascara De Fuego: Orton. FUCK I don’t care about these two doing another match anymore. Lets move the fuck on. Let Big Show fight for the title on RAW and do as I suggested moving Orton and Sheamus into the tag division. Yeah, it will probably be a decent match but I am ready not to see these dudes around each other for a long while.

Chris Jericho vs. Fandango w/Summer Rae

Mascara De Fuego: Fandango. Can I just start off by saying that the more I think about it the more I loved the dancing segment on RAW this past week. Summer Rae and Fandango doing some old school heel shit was nice, simple and to the point. My only fear is that Jericho isn’t going to be able to get a good match out of Johnny Curtis. Its odd, when he was on NXT he looked like he could go but since he’s come back with this gimmick he just seems odd. Maybe he needs more time to get comfortable with it but something is missing here. I hope he can get his shit together because I think they could be a modern day version of the Honky Tonk Man if done right.

Great Puma: Chris Jericho. Jericho needs payback from his beatdown on RAW. His little encounter with Fandango on Smackdown just isn’t enough payback for what happened. I think Jericho takes it with Fandango looking really good in the process, because that’s what Jericho does.

Pre Show

The Miz vs. Cody Rhodes

Great Puma: Miz. I guess. Two guys that should be higher in the card and speaking more often on a microphone. Yeah, I realize Miz has his occasional Piper’s Pit, but that just doesn’t cut it. These two haven’t been in a meaningful feud in a while. Hard to care when it looks like the WWE doesn’t care what these two do.

Mascara De Fuego: Miz. They should call Miz the King of the PreShow. They don’t know what the fuck to do with this kid (or a lot of the guys on this roster). Honestly its not that hard. Guys like Orton, Sheamus, Miz etc just put them in tag teams and beef up that division. Its better than the floundering your doing with all of them not. Give them a reason and a goal. I will keep harping on this shit until they do it god dammit!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

