Chris Jericho and his Jedi Master cut the floor on DWTS

by

Chris Jericho and Cheryl Burke danced the quickstep to a fine version of George Gershwin’s I Got Rhythm.

Team Chericho were the fourth pair of the evening to perform. Chris got great praise from all three judges. Here’s a small sampling of what they said.

Len – “I thought you did a great job.”

Bruno – Cheryl Burke transformed the beast into a gazelle.

Carrie Ann – “I am loving me some Chris Jericho about now.”

My Take ~ Score: 8

Bravo. Great performance. Team Chericho did us wrestling marks proud tonight. THIS was arguably the best performance of the night.

So after this performance I’ve changed my stance on how Jericho is going to fare. His score of 23 was the highest score tonight. Romeo and Hines Ward also scored 23 but I don’t think their personalities shine as much in video segments and interviews. I’m thinking Jericho can go deep into the season if he works hard and shows more of his personality week after week.

In the interview after Team Chericho’s performance, Jericho called Cheryl the ‘Dancing Yoda’ that gets results. You gotta support a guy who’s not afraid to throw Star Wars references around on national TV.

After the jump we’ll see how the rest of the cast did.

The judges’ cumulative score out of 30 and the gist of their comments are in bold.

My take and score follow in italics.

1. Sugar Ray Leonard – 17 – Lacked refinement. He’s in jeopardy of going home. Entertaining.

~ Score: 5 Better than last week. Well, a little better. Fun to watch but way too many errors to take Sugar Ray Leonard seriously. Why am I writing this like I’m some sort of expert? I’m watching for Lion Heart damnit.

2. Kendra Wilkinson – 19 – Improvement. Her posture was hit and miss.

~ Score: 6 A little better than last week and she seemed to hit all of her points. A little stiff. I was entertained.

3. Chelsea Kane – 18 – This wasn’t the time and place for this type of choreography. Not enough jive. Enjoyable.

~ Score: 7 Wow. This girl can go. The costumes were great. Best performance of the episode so far in my uneducated opinion.

4. Chris Jericho

5. Petra Nemcova – 18 – Work on her core strength. Bad technique. Great performance.

~ Score: 6 Nice performance. Petra was a little stiff but she’s so pretty you tend to ignore any flaws.

6. Kirstie Alley – 20 – She’s in tune to her body. Fabulous. Good performance with a slight hiccup near the end.

~ Score: 7 I can’t really call it. Kirstie was wearing this huge wavy dress so it was hard to see her technique. Plus she kind of big so you know…

7. Mike Catherwood – 17 – Better than last week but not by much. He looked like a fly stuck on flypaper.

~ Score: 5 Somewhat of a cheesy beginning with some wack air guitar. That being said, I was entertained…by his fine ass partner, Lacey. Cue Joey Styles’ catchphrase.

8. Romeo – 23 – He’s the one to watch. Great musicality. Needs to work on posture.

~ Score: 5 I don’t know. I can’t get the image of Romeo sitting on the bench in his USC b-ball uniform. It had a song from Grease going for it. There’s no way his performance was as good as Jericho’s. I might be a little biased. Just a little.

9. Wendy Williams – 17 – It was an improvement.

~ Score: 5 Ya know, it’s hard to root for an asshole. I just remember her talking mad amounts of shit on her radio show so it’s hard to be objective here. It was okay.

10. Ralph Macchio – 21 – A bit frenzied. Needed more precision. He has to be sharper.

~ Score: 8 I disagree with the judges. We have a ringer here. I cannot stop rooting for this guy. Ralph Macchio is a joy to watch. This dude is the guy to beat.

11. Hines Ward – 23 – Hines is a full time dancer. Great chemistry. Hines is the new Twinkle Toes. Well done.

~ Score: 8 Hines is the ‘other’ ringer on this show. Good performance and the dude is pretty likeable. He’s the other guy to beat.

Tomorrow is the elimination show. Don’t forget to support Team Chericho at abc.com or the following options!

Chris Jericho & Cheryl Burke

800-868-3409

800-VOTE4-09

AT&T text: 3409

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

