Post-UFC 119 Thoughts with The Rock

by

Greatness is captured here when mmafighting.com’s Ariel Helwani interviews Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson after UFC 119 in Indianapolis. The Rock was there as a fan and to promote his upcoming movie FASTER, with a cast that includes Billy Bob Thornton. Not sure why you just wouldn’t watch the video yourself but I typed out a transcript of most of the interview. By the way, there may or may not be a People’s Eyebrow at the end of the clip. Enjoy.

Transcript

The Rock: Dana’s such a passionate guy. A passionate promoter. At the end of the day, he just wants to see great fights. He puts together great fights. It’s always great to see him. Not only that, it’s always great to watch the fights with him to get that perspective.

Ariel Helwani: If this was big as it was back then, would you have gone with MMA?

The Rock: Man, there’s no question about it, ya know? Uh yeah, I love this sport and thought about competing in the octagon. It’s something I would have loved to have done. But I went another route. I’m too handsome! I had to go to Hollywood.

Ariel Helwani: Is MMA taking something away from wrestling these days? You think it’s hurting the business?

The Rock: No I don’t think it’s hurting the business. I think that, you know…what I think what was great about the business of wrestling was the explosion of MMA, and the evolution of MMA, and all the disciplines that the fighters bring. So I think it’s great for business period.

Ariel Helwani: Will you ever return to wrestling?

The Rock: No, I don’t see that. I’ve accomplished everything I’ve wanted to accomplished in the business. Brock Lesnar was the last guy I wanted to wrestle. I had the priviledge of wrestling him all around the world. And now I have the privilidge of watching him kick ass and humbly dominate in the UFC.

Ariel Helwani: I will kill myself if I don’t ask you this last question. Can I get an eyebrow?

[Fighterhayabusa strongly suggest you watch the rest for the video for the answer to this question.]

*video courtesy of mmafighting.com

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

