The Hayabusa Weekly Wrap Up [8.12.2010]

by

The two writers of FighterHayabusa were at their weekly knitting circle.  Between double seed stiches and purled ladder patterns, the two men discussed a myriad of topics in the realm of pro wrestling.  Here’s a transcript of that awesome exchange!

Mascara De Fuego: Welcome to Fighter Hayabusa’s Wrap Up, the Summer Slam edition! How goes it Puma? Had any out of body experiences lately?

Great Puma: Only when I’m watching Yo Gabba Gabba, brother!

Mascara De Fuego: SO Puma, before we get to our Summer Slam predictions lets get the bullshit out of the way!

TNA’s EV2.0 angle and pay per view mess from last weekend

Great Puma: I think the Dixie and the TNA powers that be need to move on before they sink any more time, money and energy into a product that is outdated and very very old. It peaks some interest but it’s not the kind of interest you want to build upon in the future. EV2.0 does NOT make new stars. It is only a trip down memory lane and that is how they should go about. A strong wrestling promotion should never be INVADED by a bunch of has-beens and rebels who are already way passed their prime.

I respect ECW and the people who have contributed to its legacy. However, I’ve already moved on and I don’t need to see it revived in vain and in a company that doesn’t deserve its presence and legacy.

Mascara De Fuego: This is painful. This makes WWE’s send off a few months ago of the ECW brand epic compared to what they did on Sunday. People tend to forget that at the time ECW was innovative because it was up “with the times”. All it is now is just a bunch of hardcore guys trying to do what they did years ago and it is just not working. TNA has wasted time and money to rush a pay per view that came off horrible and worst of all did NOTHING for TNA. ECW had its day in the sun but that day set along time ago.

TNA and its TNA Title Tournament

Mascara De Fuego: I think its just another ploy by TNA to get a quick ratings boost but I think its stupid to take the title off of RVD. If they think he is the reason for the bad ratings they are sadly mistaken as not even Jeff Hardy can save TNA right now.

Great Puma: I feel the same way. Did Angle’s climbing up the rankings storyline get trashed in the process? That was one of the few things that was actually working over there. Unless RVD requested this personally to take some time off (which I doubt), this is a horrible idea. I’m surprised they haven’t looked at the history of pro wrestlig and seen how hotshot booking is a bad idea 9 out of 10 times. It never benefits a promotion in the long run.

Mascara De Fuego: I wish I could get behind this storyline with Angle but its just making the entire top roster look weak because no one believes that Angle is actually going to lose a match, thus “retiring” from wrestling. This will obviously kill that story which once again means TNA has dropped the ball. It’s so surreal how bad this brand has gotten this year, taking so many steps back that they probably wont be able to recover.

Great Puma: Well it’s so bad that the WWE doesn’t seemed to phased at all by TNA’s blatant use of ECW the “Philadelphia Promotion”. You’d think they’d have a lawsuit in order.

Mascara De Fuego: TNA is so far behind the WWE right now, I don’t think they are phased by them. Hell, I think they feel more from ROH than TNA.

WWE signs ROH Champion Tyler Black

Great Puma: As you know from WrestleReunion I’m not the biggest Tyler Black fan. I think his ring-work is solid but I find myself twitching whenever he gets on the mic. I think it’s a good pickup and I think it’s important for them to have an IWC favorite on board for every NXT season. I’m sure he’ll be on NXT season 3 since Michael “Tool” Cole always needs someone to hate on. I’m hoping Tyler Black improves on his mic skills and takes the WWE by storm. Lord knows they need new faces and talent.

Mascara De Fuego: Yeah, we shall see. I am not impressed what they have done with former ROH Champions to this point and I don’t think Black is any different especially since he is not as solid as Lo-Ki or Danielson. Hopefully it works out for the guy but I not the biggest fan of his either.

Summerslam

Mascara De Fuego: Not a lot of matches announced so far.

Great Puma: True. But with a main event like Nexus vs Team WWE, the undercard can afford to be a little weak.

Mascara De Fuego: Seems like a throw back to days of old doesn’t it?

Great Puma: I’m looking forward to it. I’m hoping they put the Nexus over and through the atmosphere. 7 guys who have accomplished nothing are co-headlining a major pay per view. I think it’s the hottest angle we, the fans, have seen in a long time. The build up has been tremendous and I hope they make the match more about the WWE and not about Cena or any of the members of Team WWE.

Mascara De Fuego: I think it is extremely important that the Nexus gets over huge here. The WWE has finally woken up and realized that they NEED new stars and in a matter of months they took these rookies and turned them into a main event stable. I think its genius but it is important they survive on Sunday. Can they afford a few eliminations, sure. But I think it is key that Barrett, Sheffield and maybe one other guy survive and win the match.

Great Puma: Agreed. I’m sure the Nexus won’t win cleanly. I have a feeling the WWE team is eventually going to disintegrate and turn on each other. If they plant the seeds of a Jericho vs Edge feud for Wrestlemania 27 I will be a very happy wrestling mark.

Mascara De Fuego: I think the build up to this match has been great, even down to the final moments of this weeks RAW. If they could only pay this much attention to other angles…

Great Puma: They’ve done a pretty good job with Punk and Show. I’m not so keen with the direction the Vege-taker angle has taken. I want to see a Kane vs Undertaker feud as much as I wanted to see an ECW reunion PPV. I guess since I already saw one of those two things this year, Kane vs ‘Taker is gonna happen. DAMN IT!

Mascara De Fuego: Agreed. Taker vs. Kane for the millionth time is just as bad as Orton vs. Cena for the millionth time. There are so many guys on the roster for Taker to face. Shit, they’ve just scratched the surface on Punk vs. Taker. I guess the only thing good about Rey vs. Kane is that I guess Rey gets the title back on Sunday. I do hope the SES gets over strong. Losing a 3 on 1 match isn’t going to do shit to get this stable over.

Great Puma: True but with CM Punk’s injury I’m sure it’ll be more of Joseph Mathews and Luke doing the brunt of the work with Punk getting in some cheap shots. Hopefully I’m wrong and CM Punk’s elbow is healed enough so he can perform at full capacity. I’m good with either of the parties winning. Show and Punk are both capable of pulling off something amazing. I’m looking forward to that match as well.

Mascara De Fuego: What’s left on the card? Oh right, Orton vs. Sheamus. Eh, I don’t care either way and hope Miz cashes in on whoever wins.

Great Puma: True. I’d be surprised if they don’t have Miz cash in on Orton after Orton wins. I think that would be a great motivator for Orton to chase Miz and the title, which of course would be big business for the WWE. Since Orton’s character is still ‘rising’ in popularity I think it’s right for him to be in the chase right now instead of being the face of the company with the WWE title. Since the WWE is grooming Orton to be the next Stone Cold, I’d hold off a title run until Wrestlemania. I’m guessing Orton wins the Royal Rumble to set everything up.

Great Puma: Oh and what will Sheamus do in the meantime? I’m sure his buddy HHH will be ready to get in the ring after Linda McMahon wins the senate seat in November. The HHH vs Sheamus feud will live on.

Mascara De Fuego: I think Sheamus will end up being the 3rd person in the Orton vs. Miz feud until HHH McMahon gets back from his operation. I haven’t missed that dude at ALL and look forward to him taking MORE time to heal…

Great Puma: I actually think he’s taking time up to support Linda McMahon and her senate race. It doesn’t look good when your son-in-law is swinging sledgehammers at people.

Mascara De Fuego: and making dick jokes… sigh.

Ok I think that brings us to the end of another Wrap Up! Any last words Puma?

Great Puma: No last words for me, brother. I’m out like the love between @TNAnonymous and Dixie Carter!

Mascara De Fuego: Ok that will do it, I shall see you Saturday for the WWE Fan Axxess which we will be reporting on this weekend!  Until all are one!

*All photos courtesy of wwe, roh and tna.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “The Hayabusa Weekly Wrap Up [8.12.2010]”

  1. Summerslam Predictions « Fighter Hayabusa Says:

    […] from our latest Hayabusa Weekly Wrap Up. For retarded remarks and commentary follow us on our Twitter account!  […]

Leave a Reply

