The Hayabusa Weekly Wrap Up [7.21.2010]

by

The two writers of FighterHayabusa got together for a Michael Ironside marathon. 17 films, 34 hours later, and just 15 minutes into Major Payne, Puma and MDF decided to quit. They went to a local Norms and smashed atoms about Pro Wrestling over pancakes, huevos and sausage. This is a transcript of that magical event.

Mascara De Fuego: Welcome to another Hayabusa Wrap Up, what is up Puma?

Great Puma: Nothing much. I cried at the end of Boy Toy Story 3.

Mascara De Fuego: I think we got video of that which will be up on the site over the weekend!

Great Puma: Alrighty! Let’s hope not!

Mascara De Fuego: Ok so lets get to it…

What did you think of the Money in the Bank pay per view?

Great Puma: I thought it was a solid effort with two amazing MITB matches a tremendous title defense from Rey Mysterio.  I was pleasantly surprised by that pay per view in quality and booking.

Mascara De Fuego: Agreed I think it was a better ppv than I thought it would be. NO ONE was picking Kane and the fact that he cashed in THAT night was even bigger. Miz was a good choice and I hope he teases cashing in the case at least once a month.

Great Puma: As I said in my MITB review, it’s going be a fun ride seeing Miz milking his run as Mr. Money in the Bank. Monday was a great indication of how far Miz has come since he started in the WWE.

Mascara De Fuego: I have to say man, Monday was just a solid effort as well.

Speaking of what do you think about Bret Hart being the last member of Cena’s Team for SummerSlam?

Mascara De Fuego: I was hoping for Danielson…

Great Puma: Exactly. I was hoping for Danielson as well since he was sort of “dissed” the RAW after Danielson was released. Bret Hart is a nice surprised but I’m not looking forward to seeing wrestle at all.

Mascara De Fuego: Nah, I think if you’re going to get Bret maybe make one tag and win with the Sharpshooter. Thats about it. I think they really could have brought it full circle and put Danielson over HUGE, oh well.

Great Puma: Agreed. I feel like that was a missed opportunity. The sad part is that they could have waited on this match until Survivor Series. We’ve been calling for that match since the Nexus invaded. This feels rushed in my opinion. I was hoping for the angle where Cena knocks off each member one by one. Having an 8-man tag doesn’t really fit well with that scenario/angle.

Mascara De Fuego: Yeah this is really rushed for some reason. The only outcome than can come of this is getting Nexus over huge setting up for the elimination match at Survivor Series. I don’t like this match happening this early.

Great Puma: Right. Plus, Cena takes them all out at the Survivor Series match when it’s like 5-on-1 or something. That would be the worst but I will not be surprised when it happens.

Mascara De Fuego: Fucking, so tired of Somber Cena promos…

Great Puma: I feel ya on the Cena promos. I don’t think there’s ever been a company man so polarizing like Cena is. People really do hate that guy with a passion or love him. His chants are strongly backed by the high-pitched voices of pre-pubescent, 11 year old boys and 12 year old girls. Crazy.

Any thoughts on Jim Ross being cut out of the WWE opening video?

Great Puma: WWE is ridiculous for cutting out Jim Ross. Jim Ross is the voice of the WWE like John Facenda is the voice for classic NFL films or like James Earl Jones is the voice of CNN. If the WWE is not the pettiest company in the world, I don’t know who is.

Mascara De Fuego: Seriously, you can avoid the history of other guys in the business all you want but god damn, Jim Ross’ voice is synonymous with your product and its YOUR fault he isn’t on television not his!

Great Puma: Very true. Think Vince is threatened by the fact that Jim Ross is steadily becoming more beloved by the fans. I’m thinking Good ol’ J.R. is about to blow up without the WWE and without the WWE’s stamp of approval.

Mascara De Fuego: Good point, its a voice they are going to regret letting go…

TNA beats the dead horse and is doing an ECW ppv, yeah…

Great Puma: Didn’t the WWE already show them how an ECW branded pay per view doesn’t make any money anymore? I wonder who does research for that company.

Mascara De Fuego: What exactly is this suppose to do for their brand!? NOTHING! The two One Night Stand ppv’s were great and then Vince killed ECW slowly until no one cared anymore so why do I care now?

Great Puma: I have no idea. I’m thinking all the old ECW heads, like ourselves, have accepted it’s demise and have moved on. I doubt this next generation of TNA fans really care about the angle.

Mascara De Fuego: Fucking TNA… and our last question of the night…

Did CM Punk being unmasked came to soon?

Great Puma: Yeah. It was cool to see but I did feel like it came out of nowhere. That could have been an awesome Summerslam moment. I think people were just getting used to the idea of CM Punk being a masked wrestler.

Mascara De Fuego: I was pissed. They could have practically built an entire pay per view over this and they fucked it up!

The possibility of Edge vs Jericho for Wrestlemania 27 in Georgia?

Great Puma: It seems like they planted some seeds last Monday night.

Mascara De Fuego: I would like to think they were planning THIS ahead of time but I don’t have that kind of faith in the WWE right now.

Great Puma: I understand that sentiment. I think that’s the best case scenario for their exchange of words Monday night. If it does happen, I’ll be stoked. Both of their promos were spot on and had a lot of baggage behind them. How can they NOT put that match on Wrestlemania?

Mascara De Fuego: I just found it leading another way. Even though they had a great promo, they get jumped by Nexus and now they are part of Cena’s team. Yeah, something could happen between them on the ppv but I dont know, I just don’t like how they just put aside everything they said for this.

Great Puma: Right. I think what was said cements this feud and should be rebooted around the Royal Rumble. I’m hoping some of the Nexus and NXT season 2 guys get a push to make future pay per views more interesting. New talent and stars always pays off.

Speaking of NXT, how’s getting the boot next week?

Great Puma: I’d love to see Percy Watson go but it will probably be Husky Harris. As far as I’m concerned, KAVAL is the NXT right now. The crowd just seems to pop for everything Kaval does…or maybe it’s just my own selective hearing.

Mascara De Fuego: Man, I have to say I hope Cottonwood or Cannon are going home. I’m hoping Harris is the darkhorse of the competition and ends up making it close to the end. I still think they will go with Hennig winning it with Kaval coming in second. Not sure what I would do with this Riley kid. Reminds me too much of Kennedy… Kennedy.

Great Puma: The sad part is that Riley isn’t a great wrestler in my opinion. Husky, Hennig Jr., and Kaval can definitely go but the rest of the NXT season 2 roster is as green as the shit that comes out of your old Santa Bong.

Mascara De Fuego: oh Santa, I wonder where he is right now… Hopefully bringing joy so some couch potato sitting in front of his television using a Sega Saturn to get onto the internet… sigh.  On THAT note…Goodnight folks!

Great Puma: I’m out like Jake Shields in Strikeforce, son!

Mascara De Fuego: Until all are one…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

