Money in the Bank Predictions

by

The two writers of FighterHayabusa got together after a round of UNO to discuss this Sunday’s WWE pay per view, Money in the Bank.

WWE Champion Sheamus vs. John Cena (Steel Cage Match)
Puma: WINNER:  Sheamus.  I pray to the sports entertainment gods that the Nexus get involved with this match and some how take Cena out again.  I don’t see Sheamus pinning Cena clean at all and I really hope the forces that be DO NOT send the crowd home happy with another Cena victory where he overcomes all odds.  That would be very boring and very predictable.

MDF: Sheamus retains. I smell a Russo-style set up on Sheamus’ part after last week when he helped Cena fight off The Nexus. The honeymoon won’t last and after Sheamus wins the match (in some form or fashion), I look for The Nexus to lock themselves into the cage with Cena to finish the job on him… or at least take him out until Summerslam since they are going to need a big return on the show and it won’t be Triple H and probably no Taker either. As for the match, it’s a steel cage you know what you’re getting. A lot of over the top and thru the door attempts.

World Champion Rey Mysterio vs. Jack Swagger
MDF: rey. I don’t see them taking the title off of Rey so soon but then again I wouldn’t be surprised which the angle they are using with Swagger taking out the ankle of Rey with the Angle… I mean ankle lock. I would expect a good match with both and they might deliver that but if you are building up the ankle injury, I don’t think that’s going to be very likely.

Puma: WINNER:  Jack Swagger.  I do like Rey as champion but I like Jack Swagger as champion even more.  He needs this title more than Rey does.  Rey is a first ballot hall of famer (that is if the WWE Hall of Fame selection committee was done like the NBA).

As great as Rey is, I think Swagger needs the rub here to continue his evolution as one of the WWE’s elite mega-heels.  Attaching the ankle lock to Swagger’s always expanding moveset tells you how high the WWE brass is on Swagger.  I’d love to see Swagger catch Rey’s foot on a 619, pulls him through the ropes and slaps on the ankle lock.

Raw Money in the Bank Ladder Match
Randy Orton vs John Morrison vs Evan Bourne vs United States Champion The Miz vs Ted DiBiase vs Chris Jericho vs Mark Henry (replacing R-Truth) vs Edge.

Puma: WINNER:  Randy Orton.  Personally, I would love to see Bourne, Miz or Morrison get a shot at the world title but Orton sort of makes perfect sense here.  Orton’s popularity is at an all time high so I’m thinking the WWE should capitalize immediately.

If this match comes on last, I’m guessing that Orton will be the victor.  If this match is not the final main event, my next guess would be the Miz.  The Miz has established himself as a major heel and this would only put him over the top.  On a side note, I do expect to see a shooting star press from Bourne off the top of a ladder in this match.  I expect to see Morrison do some batty maneuver off the top of a ladder as well.

MDF: Miz. As much as I don’t like the concept of having THREE MITB matches in one year I think RAW has did a good job of building this match. I’m not crazy with their choice of guys in the match as Orton, Jericho or Edge don’t need this and would be a waste for them to give the briefcase on these guys. Guys like Henry and Bourne are only there to enhance the match, as awesome as it would be for them to give it to Bourne, it isn’t going to happen.

I think its going to be between DiBiase or Miz. The briefcase is more affective when its in the hands of a heel and with the rise he’s been having even in the buildup of the match, I find it hard for them to give it to anyone BUT Miz. The guy has worked hard and has been pretty consistent in the last year to two years. This could be the chance for them to test him out and elevate him to main event.

SmackDown Money in the Bank Ladder Match
Big Show vs Matt Hardy vs Christian vs Intercontinental Champion Kofi Kingston vs  vs Dashing Cody Rhodes vs Drew McIntyre vs Dolph Ziggler vs Kane

MDF: McIntyre, and I’m not happy about my choice. With all this bullshit between Teddy Long and Drew, I think this is what it is leading towards unfortunately. I will say this, if Drew wins I see him trying to cash in tonight and LOSING. Its going to happen one day and what a better choice to get served than this dude. I would love to see Christian finally get his or even Rhodes who’s finally coming into his own with his “Dashing” character. This will most likely be the better of the MITB matches.

Puma: WINNER:  Big Show.  I’m thinking Swagger will be taking the title off Rey so the Big Show would be the perfect number one contender for Swagger to continue to feud with in the upcoming weeks.

I’m looking forward to this match the most since there are so many entangled feuds and storylines involved.  Will Matt and Christian, the TLC veterans, use their experience to get their come-uppance?  Will the WWE allow Kofi to gain the prize that he ultimately deserves?  How will Kane react since he is now hellbent on destroying everybody?

Unified Tag Team Champions The Hart Dynasty vs. Jimmy & Jey Uso
MDF
: I hate to say it but I’m not excited by this at all. They’ve been treating this feud like an afterthought and its killed it for me. They have spent too much time on 6 person tags and not building up the Uso’s and viable contenders for the tag titles. Lame. Should be an ok match but this feud has been made into just filler.

Puma: WINNERS:  Harts.  Ever since the Nexus have become the “A” story line on RAW, I feel the tag team division has suffered from neglect.  I would want the Uso’s to win if they weren’t so green.  I think their history and pro wrestling pedigree is great but their current actual ring work is less than stellar.  I’d rather see the Hart Dynasty take on a more experience tag team that could showcase the Hart Dynasty’s amazing talent.

Divas Champion Alicia Fox vs. Eve
MDF: Fox retains. I don’t care about this shit so that’s all you’re getting out of me with this bowl shit.

Puma: WINNER:  Alicia Fox.  I think Fox retains the belt here since her character is just beginning to blossom.  I’d love for the WWE to deny Eve the Divas Title until Wrestlemania for a satisfying pay off.

Women’s Champion Layla vs. Kelly Kelly
MDF: Layla retains. Layla has been making strides in her wrestling but he has to shed McCool and he shitty wrestling and her white devil look.

Puma: WINNER:  Layla.  I enjoy watching these two ladies wrestle for so many reasons that shouldn’t be typed on this site.  I think Kelly Kelly is improving but I really feel that LayCool is just hitting its stride right now.  I hope LayCool keeps the belt for a while or at least until Survivor Series.

*all photos courtesy of wwe.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

