The Hayabusa Weekly Wrap Up [6.3.2010]

by

Every week the writers of FighterHayabusa get together over tea and crumpets and discuss everything about everything pro wrestling. Here’s  a transcript  for the week of June 2, 2010:

Mascara De Fuego: Welcome to the Hayabusa Weekly Wrap up! How goes it Puma?

Great Puma: It goes well. I don’t have to watch the WWE pretend that the other rookies, not named Daniel Bryan, were competition for Wade Barrett.

Mascara De Fuego: No doubt, so lets get into it from the top.

What do you think of Bret Hart as RAW General Manager?

Great Puma: I see it as an elaborate apology from Vince McMahon as well as a great business move for both parties. It makes RAW a lot more interesting from a power struggle stand point between the wrestlers and “management”. It seems Bret is really going for a fair and hardnosed GM that straddles the fence between heel and face. I’m really liking it so far. Loved his interaction with the Hart Dynasty.

Mascara De Fuego: I think its kinda out of the blue but I think it’s a solid choice. I was dreading Abraham Washington so getting Bret Hart was a relief. I think Hart will be able to give a lot of these guys the rub they need to move onto the next level. Let’s just hope it lasts long but after McMahon’s cryptic comments on RAW this past Monday who knows.

Great Puma: True. If McMahon’s comments adds to Bret’s length of stay, I’m down for whatever happens.

Now that RAW officially has a GM, is it time to cut out the guest hosts especially when the Host is “calling it in” and isn’t even at the arena?

Great Puma: I’m thinking they keep the guest hosts for crossover appeal. They’ve gotten more media coverage than ever and I think the WWE knows that media coverage is essentially free advertising for the next generation of wrestling entertainment fans. Personally, I don’t like it but if it’s good for the business, I don’t see it going anywhere soon.

Mascara De Fuego: I’ve never really been a fan of this concept so I am glad if they would pull it already. Its just such a waste of short time that these guys get on television on Monday nights. Its had a good run but I think its time to go back to wrestling. Its not to say they couldn’t do it every once and a while but the weekly thing has run its course.

What are your thoughts on CM Punk’s wrestling mask look?

Great Puma: Its half gimp-half amazing. Really. His look is at the crossroads of so many different subtexts from S&M to Punk to Lucha to Japanese masks and more. As I said in our private conversations, the only thing missing is a ball gag and a leash…or maybe just a cape.

Mascara De Fuego: HA! I think it as a GREAT twist! We all thought it was going to be one of two things, either he was going to show up with his head completely shaven or partly shaven/long after Rey’s cutting job. I don’t think anyone expected this and I think its genius for them to put Punk under a mask. Plus it’s a good marketing plot too. CM Punk masks coming soon to WWEshop.com.

Great Puma: Seriously. I’ll be first in line to order one! I’ve needed some classy accessories for clubbing on Saturday nights.

Mascara De Fuego: Then you’ll need a cape for sure

Great Puma: Word.

What did you think of the NXT finale?

Great Puma: I think they chose the right wrestler to be the Next Breakout Star. I think they lost an opportunity to hype up an interesting main event for a PPV. I wish Wade challenged somebody for their title as soon as the final poll was displayed.

Mascara De Fuego: I thought it was a strange and predictable show. I think we all knew it would and HAD to be Wade Barrett. They exchange with the Pro’s was unnecessary and just there to fill time. Overall I think the concept of this show is very flawed and needs to be reworked because right now I don’t know how season 2 will hold my interest. We shall see if and how they bring in the eliminated rookies back on to WWE television.

Great Puma: Very true. The only thing holding my interest in Season 2 is seeing great matches from Kaval.

Mascara De Fuego: Well, lets hope that happens we all know how they treated Daniel Bryan.

Great Puma: So true…and tragic. It was so apparent they felt Daniel Bryan didn’t need NXT at all and was used to bring legitimacy to the new program.

Mascara De Fuego: But did it cost him in the end because I feel it did.

Great Puma: In the casual fan’s mind he probably came off like a whiner more than a world class pro wrestler.

Mascara De Fuego: Hell it came across like that to me. I don’t think they did a good job of marketing him and protecting him as much as they should have.

And our last question of the night… Looking at the Season 2 NXT rookies, what are your preliminary thoughts?

Mascara De Fuego: I do think a few guys stand out but what the fuck is up with these stupid names especially with the guys that have linage like Rotundo and Hennig?! Don’t you want to play up to that?! Don’t you want people to have recognizable names on the show!? I don’t know, this is strange. Although the strangest shit HAS to be Layla and McCool being Kaval’s coach, are you fucking kidding me?! Are they trying to pull another Daniel Bryan situation?! Its stupid and such a waste, I don’t want to see these bitches on NXT.

Great Puma: Looking forward to Kaval. Period. The names are atrocious and whomever created them needs to be fired and lobotomized. After I saw the new roster, I was on Twitter comparing Season 2 to Our Gang. Husky Harris belongs in the same nickname realm as Spanky and Alfalfa. To deny names like Hennig and Rotundo is downright disrespectful. And yes, having LayCool as coaches just reminds us all just how carny pro wrestling can still be.

Mascara De Fuego: And that brings us to the end of another Wrap Up! Tune in next week for our Fatal 4 Way predictions… Until All Are One.

Great Puma: I’m out like Duke Rotundo’s name.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

