The Hayabusa Weekly Wrap Up

by

Every week the writers of FighterHayabusa.com team up to smash atoms on all things pro wrestling.  This is for the week of April 12. 2010.

Mascara De Fuego: By the Power of Grey Skull we are BACK for another Hayabusa Weekly Wrap UP! Lots of news this week Puma, are you ready?!

Great Puma: I’m ready, brotherrrr!

Mascara De Fuego: The big news of the week is Smackdown is moving to SyFy at the end of the year. What do you think of the move off network TV to cable?

Great Puma: I think it will help the SMACKDOWN product as a whole but I do think it’s not good for the WWE’s non-cable audience. I’m sure there’s a large percentage of the WWE audience that still does not have cable. I expect this move to produce an edgier and more entertaining pro wrestling product overall in the long run. I’m actually looking forward to the Caprica/Smackdown tie in episodes! Maybe Undertaker will be seen fighting a Cylon prototype some day!

Mascara De Fuego: I think it will be good for the show as they will be on a stable network. Will they lose people by not having a network television show? Yeah but I think in the long run they are testing the waters for the WWE Channel. I just hope this doesn’t signal the return of Kevin Thorne. It will be interesting to see if why actually find another home for NXT or if it will just go away as another WWE failed experiment like the XFL, the body building league and ECW.

Great Puma: Wait…what’s wrong with vampires? I still have a thing for Ariel. I needed to get that off my chest.

Mascara De Fuego: Well, I wouldn’t complain if she came back at all, maybe the mummy too!

Mascara De Fuego: How do you think the move to SyFy will impact the Draft coming up soon?

Great Puma: Unfortunately, it seems USA is still the number one cable network so I’m sure most of the key talent will be moved to RAW. That being said, what the WWE views as “key talent” is totally different than what I view as key talent so Smackdown might be the show that’s once again loaded with the talent with the better in-ring work rate. Hopefully, guys like Evan Bourne, Carlito, Primo, Santino and Yoshi Tatsu could be sent to Smackdown, where their talents could be effectively utilized and appreciated.

Mascara De Fuego: I think they are going to pad Smackdown big time to make sure their move is as solid as it can be. Maybe Smackdown will finally get the respect it’s deserved in the last couple of years as the better show. I can see Christian, Orton or maybe even Cena being moved to that show for the next year. As usual around this time of year, they need to freshen things up!

Great Puma: Very true. However, I think keeping HHH, Orton, Batista and Cena in one place allows a lot of creative breathing room for the other shows.

Mascara De Fuego: The WWE doesn’t care about breathing room just suffocating the younger guys after they pushed them high, like Kofi.

Mascara De Fuego: Orlando Jordan. Is he the new Goldust or is he just a waste of time?

Great Puma: I can’t really comment on him in fairness since I don’t watch TNA. I never hear of any improvement from him so I guess I’ll just stick with my first impression that I got from him in the old WWF and that was he’s just a waste of time.

Mascara De Fuego: To me, it is just stupid and a fucking waist of time. That’s all I have to say about that. I don’t know why I keep trying…

Mascara De Fuego: TNA has been pushing the envelope with unnecessary stunts. Rob Terry gets a couple of stiff unprotected shots to the head and Jeff Hardy getting burned by the use of a fireball. When did TNA turn into back yard wrestling and do you think they will learn their lesson before its too late and someone gets hurt?

Great Puma: Since it’s TNA, they’re going to wait until someone gets hurt. Don’t be surprised if they do some absurd scaffold match to top the old XPW stunt from years back. I hope they realize that less is more and that big bumps do not matter if a good feud and storyline aren’t involved.

Mascara De Fuego: I think their direction is extremely ass backwards and the fact that they are doing stupid shit like blood or unprotected chair shots or fireballs is so stupid and blatant. We knew TNA was going to be in trouble but damn, I couldn’t have predicted it was going to be THIS bad! Real bad. I don’t think they will come out if this and its too bad because at one point they had something good.

Mascara De Fuego: Today Jim Cornette posted an email he sent to Terry Taylor last month. In the email Cornette said he would kill Vince Russo if he had the chance. TNA has taken action against Cornette. Any thoughts on this strange situation?

Great Puma: Is it really that strange? I think Jim Cornette said what most of us die-hard pro wrestling fans have been thinking for the past decade. I’m sure this will pass and that no charges will pressed against Cornette. The wrestling business is still the wrestling business and I’m sure emails and harsh words like Cornette’s are stated all the time.

Mascara De Fuego: I think that it shows how passionate Cornette is but I can see how that can be taken out context, he is a wrestling head first and foremost. TNA has their head up their ass so badly, I can see them turning this into an angle. Obviously one that wont involve Cornette.

Mascara De Fuego: What are your thoughts on NXT lately? It does seem like it is losing steam.

Great Puma: The format is all wrong. It’s ECW with a few twists to the way things are played out. It’s definitely not some new and exciting formula they hyped it up to be. Their best worker is NOT protected and they haven’t given the audience enough out of the ring footage to make us care about the rookies.

Mascara De Fuego: If anything this show isn’t, its ECW. ECW was at least a good solid wrestling show. This is just, wasted. They have such an opportunity on their hands to get people behind these guys from the beginning of their WWE careers. They Only thing they’ve done is make these guys look weak with only a few stand outs like Barrett and yeah I guess even Otunga. Bryan isn’t being protected in any form or fashion. Why they put him at the top of the pro’s “vote” is beyond me. It’s a damn shame that Bryan is just another joke in the WWE similar to Kendrick and London.

Great Puma: ‘Joke’ is actually being generous. I think it’s a tragedy and a damn shame someone of his talent isn’t given the proper respect he deserves.

Mascara De Fuego: I hate to say it but if this is the route they had planned originally, they should have gone with Kaval instead. They are going to have to do a lot of work to save Bryan. I think The Miz’s promo last NXT was solid and felt real. Hopefully that is what they are building to.

Mascara De Fuego: Alright that brings us to the end of another Wrap Up, Until All Are One

Great Puma: Word.  I’m out like a Frank Mir Heavyweight title shot.

(photos courtesy from TNA, WWE, N. Markell’s flickr and Buddy Landel’s Gallery)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

