Hayabusa Weekly Wrap Up

by

The guys at Fighter Haybusa recap WrestleMania, the MITB winner and more…


Mascara De Fuego: Alright Puma, we are just days removed from WrestleMania 26, what are your opening thoughts on this years event?

Great Puma: I thought it was a solid event. It was a little light on the undercard but the main events provided a lot of punch and memorable moments.

Mascara De Fuego I think this years WrestleMania had a great build up and for the most part it delievered. The show had some solid matches even though they were short.

Mascara De Fuego: So lets start with the opener, The Unified Tag Team Champions ShowMiz beating Morrison & R-Truth…

Great Puma: Short and sweet. I expected the outcome but they could’ve teased a face win a little more. There was hardly a close pinfall or anything of the sort. It was like knockout blow out of nowhere and that was it.

Mascara De Fuego: I was shocked by the time constraints right off the bat. I think it could have gone a bit longer and they aren’t playing up the Miz and Morrison fued that should still be there was wasn’t.

Great Puma: True. It’s like they want us to forget that they were once a great tag team together. There’s lack of continuity there for sure.

Mascara De Fuego: They have to keep that continuity alive if these two are to main event pay per views against each other in the future.

Great Puma: Right. I could imagine how great the storyline packages would be for them if they ever main event future PPVs.

Mascara De Fuego: Next we had Randy Orton vs. Ted DiBiase vs. Cody Rhodes…

Great Puma: Orton is officially Stone Cold. I don’t care for him but the crowd sure does. I did like the double DDT spot. I think last night’s RAW was the final turning point for his character. He’ll be getting the title soon.

Mascara De Fuego: I think it did everything for Orton and not a thing for Legacy. They could have found a way to put them over and still get Orton’s face pop. Saying it now, Orton main events next years WrestleMania for the WWE Title. Like you, I don’t get it but the crowds do.

Great Puma: He’s a viper you know.

Mascara De Fuego: And he slithers…

Mascara De Fuego: The next match was the Money in the Bank match with Jack Swagger getting the win.

Great Puma: Really disappointing in a few ways. First off, it was too short. Secondly, I’m sad that Shelton didn’t really get to pull off a Wrestlemania moment that we all know he’s capable of. I do like them giving Swagger a push since I’m a fan of his but overall I feel there weren’t enough moments for it to compete with the great MITB matches in the past.

Mascara De Fuego: Definitely not the best MITB and I think that started with having way too many guys in the match. They could’nt focus on the highspots we’re use to and maybe that has something to do with the “PG WWE” but I was sort of let down. Swagger winning it was a good surprise even though I was pulling for Christian.

Mascara De Fuego: Triple H beat Sheamus…

Mascara De Fuego: I though it was strange that they went with Triple H. I didn’t pay much attention to this match.

Great Puma: It was hard to remember what actually happened. All that muscle and ego obstructed my viewing. HHH won. What’s new? Way to put a buddy over.

Mascara De Fuego: The next match made up for this one with Rey Mysterio beat CM Punk.

Mascara De Fuego: I do like the Avatar vs. Military references. I really enjoed this match but again, a really short match. It made more sense for Punk to win. Hopefully its not the end of this feud.

Great Puma: This could have gone an extra 20 minutes. So short but so so good. I can’t say enough about Rey-vatar and G.I. Punk. Knowing is…

Mascara De Fuego: Bret Hart and the entire Hart Family beat Vince McMahon.

Great Puma: 10 minutes too long but if the Hart Dynasty gets the rub then I’m all for it. I’m really glad Bret got the send off he deserves. Weird that Shawn and Bret said goodbye on the same show. Funny how life works.

Mascara De Fuego: It did what it needed to do even though the whole Hart family part seemed out of the blue and thrown in at the last minute. At least it was the start of the Dynasty push..hopefully. Too long and should have been a quick two minutes.

Mascara De Fuego: Chris Jericho retains the World Title by beating Edge

Great Puma: Pretty good match but I think Rey vs Punks edges it as far as innovation goes. The finish was my favorite part since nobody expected Jericho to win. What’s cool is that it will probably continue at the next PPV and we all know Edge is best in an extreme environment.

Mascara De Fuego: I enjoyed this match but then again, short. I was surprised Edge didnt get the Title. Kind of takes the wind out of his sails. I do see this going on which is good after its WrestleMania build up.

Mascara De Fuego: Diva’s Match… All I remember about this was Vicki’s “splash” off the “top” rope.

Great Puma: Fuck. I hardly remember any of this. Sorry. I’m a bad WWE Universe member.

Mascara De Fuego: Next was John Cena winning the WWE Title from Batista…

Great Puma: I really think Batista should have won this match. If they were both solid wrestlers, the finish would’ve been amazing. Unfortunately, the finish and all of the previous reversals and close pinfalls came off clumsy and awkward. It was sort of just there for me. At least Batista is kicking ass in his promos these days.

Mascara De Fuego: There was a lot of botched shit in this match, that’s all I can remember. Batista should have kept the Title. There is no one for Cena to defend the Title against anymore.

Mascara De Fuego: And in the main event (as it should have been) The Undertaker goes to 18-0 and retires Shawn Michaels.

Great Puma: I thought this was as good as their first encounter for totally different reasons. While last year’s encounter had a little more action and length, this year’s chapter provided more drama and emotion. As far as execution goes, I’d say this match was flawless.

Mascara De Fuego: I think the match and the end of the career of Shawn Michael’s came out as it should have. The match was great, another show stealer and Taker not only stays undefeated at WrestleMania but he takes out HBK’s career for a second time.

Great Puma: I must add that I’m still not used to the idea that Shawn isn’t wrestling any more.

Mascara De Fuego: Nor am I.  A world without Shawn Michaels will be a strange one. What do you think of the send off they did for HBK?

Great Puma: I thought it was well done. I don’t think HBK is the type of guy that wanted a Ric Flair-style grandiose send off. His speech was heartwarming and the applause from the fans was worthy of HBK’s accomplishments and overall career. I’m sad to see him go but happy for him and his family.

Mascara De Fuego: I think it was a good send off. Its still surreal. I think the video package shown of the Otunga hosted RAW was as good as it gets. I will truly miss HBK.

Mascara De Fuego: On Friday night, Jack Swagger became the quickest person to cash in the MITB briefcase which he used to beat Chris Jericho for the World Title, how do you feel about Swaggers win?

Great Puma: I absolutely love it. I’ve been a Swagger-phile since he first got there. I think it’s important for any pro wrestling organization to have a few upper tier wrestlers with real amateur wrestling achievements. I’m not saying Swagger is the next Kurt Angle or Brock Lesnar but I think he can be just as successful and most importantly, loyal to the WWE. That being said, I’m not crazy about them using Swagger as fodder for their super-push for Orton. Way to make the Smackdown brand champ look weak, guys.

Mascara De Fuego: I think it was genius for having Swagger cash in sooner than later and I think adding him to the Jericho vs. Edge feud is only going to do him a world of good. Swagger has been ready for a while and for a little bit there it seemed he would join Santino in the “not ready for prime time players” on RAW. Although I dont think making your Champion lose on a different brand is a good idea, I do think it was a good match that only helped both Orton, to become more of a face and for Swagger to wrestle a main eventer.

Mascara De Fuego: On to the shocker of the week, Chris Daniels leaves TNA and goes back to Ring of Honor!

Great Puma: Good for Chris Daniels. I feel like he’s one of the last independents to never make it to “the show”. The show meaning WWE since the current TNA is hardly worthy of being considered “major league”. If anything, it’s a win-win for ROH since they have a true indy wrestling legend that could help teach the younger guys how to work.

Mascara De Fuego: I think its a telling sign that Daniels jumped ship before it sank! He is one of the guys that helped build TNA and all he got was shitted on, lately by the Hogan Regime. I think this is huge for Ring of Honor and I hope its just a matter of time before we see Kazarian AND Samoa Joe jump off of TNA.

Great Puma: I hope that happens. It’d be nice to see great workers go to a place where GREAT WORK is appreciated.

Mascara De Fuego: Lastly, any thoughts on the career of the late Chris Kanyon?

Great Puma: Who better than Kanyon? Good ol’ Mortis could always be counted on for a good match. It’s a shame I remember him more for his Vince cut me because I’m a homosexual comment than his actual wrestling.

Mascara De Fuego: I remember the guy being a solid worker and always hoping Mortis was going to get push or taken seriously, that never happened. I was glad to see him come up later on with his interactions with DDP then going to the WWE to become this Invasion MVP, holding the WCW United States and WWE Tag Team Titles. Its a shame to see things like this happen in this business. Wrestling can be a cold, nasty bitch some times.
Mascara De Fuego: May he rest in peace.

Mascara De Fuego: That brings us to the end of another Wrap Up.

Great Puma: Word. I’m out like the Kansas Jayhawks.

Mascara De Fuego: Until all are won.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

